I

20120802-201806.jpg

“I” need to serve God more
“I” need to seek him
“I” need to pray more
“I” need to read my bible more
“I” need to love others

What does each of those sentences have in common? The answer is “I”. While each of these sound like great noble things on the surface, they are self focused. They are based on the false notion that “I can do anything” I can’t do anything on my own, and apart from God, I am NOTHING! No, in all seriousness, completely nothing. I am unable to even take a single breath apart from his divine intervention.
“I”. A simple one letter word, but a central focus in probably everybody’s life.
How often to we revolve our lives around that big “I” me, myself and I.
This simple tiny word is possibly the most dangerous and destructive word used in our language.
The other day, I was sitting in a restaurant, and noticed a couple at the next table. They had obviously not been together too long, it was possibly a first date. The man never stopped talking. I mean, literally! He rambled about his job, his school, EMT training, how he did this, and he did that… Besides it being obnoxious, he honestly didn’t have anything to say. His life was in fact, from all appearances, boring. The girl on the other hand, could have had an amazing life, with millions of fascinating stories, but he would never know. He showed no interest in her, he was only interested in his boring self. He showed that he didn’t care what she thought, or felt, or did, or liked.
Think about our lives compared to a holy and perfect God who loves us more than we can fathom. Now picture yourself sitting at a dinner table with him, and talking about yourself. Absurd right? You would would probably do everything to keep the conversation from even going to, about you.
The best way to reach a goal is to focus on it. When I’m driving down the road, I focus on a point in front of me, and I subconsciously, inevitably, reach that point. You cannot be self focused, and follow after God. You will follow where your focus is.
If you are focusing on yourself, your problems or anything with “I” in it, you will inevitably be driven to yourself, and away from God. When your focus is anything but God working in and through you, you have a problem. We tend to hang on to, and often quote the verse “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” viewing Christ as a supernatural aid to pull off amazing feats or stunts, much like steroids. I think it’s important to realize the flip side of this verse however, I can do nothing without Christ Who is my strength. He is much more than our strength He is our everything.
And on that note, “I” have a really bad stomach ache, and “I” am gonna go lay down.